The view past the fog

Hey guys, there is nothing quite like flying thousands of feet off the ground. I don’t know how many flights I’ve been on, I’m guessing it’s between 50 and 100 over the last few years, and it never seems to get old.

I would say that it gets a little bit repetitive…go to the airport, park, ride the bus, go through security, get on the plane, take off, fly, land, get the rental car…then repeat in the reverse order a couple of days later.

So when I say it never gets old, I’m talking about the things I see as I fly. I love riding in the window seat, it allows me to take in the beauty and glory of what God has created, plus I’m fascinated at what the landscape looks like from 30,000 feet.

The flight today was a little bit different than normal. Shortly after we took off we entered into a dense fog. Seriously dense, like “where did the wing go” dense. But you know what, we kept flying. That dense fog didn’t slow us down, the pilots didn’t turn us around because we couldn’t see. We just kept going, and eventually, we moved out of the fog and were able to see the ground below us, although we were several thousand feet higher than we were when we lost sight of the ground, and our view was a completely new terrain.

That’s when I realized, this is exactly what my relationship with God is like. At times, I feel like I’m in a fog. Like I can’t see the wing on the airplane that I’m riding in. It can be hard to orient myself and determine which way I’m going and what God is doing. I know he’s there, I know he’s guiding me, but I don’t see clearly what he’s doing or where he’s taking me.

Then, out of the blue he reveals something to me and opens my eyes to see what is really going on. When the fog is lifted I see things clearly from a whole new perspective. It’s at that time that I’m able to view God’s glory and see the majesty of what he has created.

Do you guys ever feel like that?

Yes, it can be hard to continue on when we don’t see what God is doing. This is why so many people “try” Christianity and then walk away feeling unfulfilled. They may take off on the plane, but as soon as the fog rolls in they turn around and return to the place where they came from. They never fully commit. Yet just like I was fully committed to riding on this airplane (I don’t think the pilot would have listened if I asked him to turn around), we need to be fully committed to letting God guide us and lead us through life, resting in the fact that he has our lives in his hands and is always there. In Ephesians 1 Paul prays for the church in Ephesus, and he prays that they will have wisdom in God and that their eyes will be opened.

Why? So that they could see what God had in store for them…So that the fog could be lifted.

…that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give to you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him, the eyes of your understanding being enlightened; that you may know what is the hope of His calling, what are the riches of the glory of His inheritance in the saints…

Ephesians 1:17-18 NKJV

It’s this understanding, this wisdom, and this hope that allows us to draw close to God and continue on even when the fog is thick.  When we approach God with an open heart, when we fully trust in him we end up having a completely different experience than people who simply dabble in Christianity, and much like the view from 30,000 feet, the end result is simply breathtaking.

Leave a Reply

