That Flesh…Yup, It FAILS

Hey-O,

How are you guys doing today? Son, are you ready to go back to school next week? Mom…are you ready for him to go back to school next week? This week sure has been interesting.

Combine all the crazy things happening at work, the gas being off at home and having to do the repairs for that, and this horrible cold that we’ve been stuck with and this week seemed to go by really fast, and unfortunately sort of in a blur. When times are like that it’s so easy for us to get distracted and distance ourselves from God. We are focused on what is going on “right now” and don’t slow down to thank God for what He’s doing, or ask Him for His help when we need it.

We really need to make sure to keep our focus on God. The verse for today reminds me why.

My flesh and my heart fail; But God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

Psalm 73:26

Even though I may think I can handle things on my own, and may think that I have life under control, the fact is that without God I cannot stand on my own.

Our flesh will fail, our hearts will fail, when left to our own methods, WE will fail. But God is our strength! It’s crazy, because even though I would consider myself to be walking with the Lord, I still frequently find myself trying to do this life thing on my own. And when I do that, I constantly fail.

I can’t rely on my flesh, my sin nature tempts me beyond reason

I can’t rely on my heart “For the heart is deceitfully wicked above all things”

I must walk through life in constant communication and reliance on God and remember that He is my strength and portion. I hope this encourages you guys to live the same way, I love you and can’t wait to spend this weekend with you!

Leave a Reply

