I’m so excited, and I just can’t hide it!

Hey guys, I hope you’re enjoying your day. Son, I hope you’re helping mom out, and most of all I hope you’ve both gotten some time in the word today.

I’m looking in Acts 3, where we see the story of a lame man that was a beggar at the gates to the temple. This man had been lame since birth, we don’t know exactly what his infirmity was, but by the indications in the Bible he had some kind of problem with his legs. Each day, someone would carry him to the gate, set him down, and there he would ask for money from those who were coming to the temple to pray.

On this particular day, as Peter and John walked by, the man asked them for money, just like every other person on any other day, yet this time the man got so much more than he could have asked for.

Peter looks into the man’s face and says

“Silver and gold I do not have, but what I do have I give you: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, rise up and walk”

Now in light of what Peter said, what do you think the man’s response was?! Did he lay down on the ground, rolling around, thanking them for the miracle? No. Did he praise Peter and John, thanking them for everything they did? No.

He leapt up, and walked into the temple, leaping, and praising GOD for what He had done! Check it out!

So he, leaping up, stood and walked and entered the temple with them—walking, leaping, and praising God. And all the people saw him walking and praising God. Then they knew that it was he who sat begging alms at the Beautiful Gate of the temple; and they were filled with wonder and amazement at what had happened to him.

Acts 3:8-10 NKJV

What’s so significant about this? Well, after God touched this man’s life, after he experienced God’s provision and healing he didn’t just thank God and go about his day quietly, Oh No, he made a scene!

He shouted, he praised, he jumped up and down. He gave glory to God for the miracle that just occurred and made sure that everyone knew about it! And boy did they ever, they realized who he was and saw what God had done for him, and they were filled with wonder and amazement!

When I was reading this, the thought that struck me was simply this, are people filled with wonder and amazement when they see how God has worked in my life?

God has touched me in so many ways, he has provided so extravagantly, he has brought me from a point of driving my life into destruction to a life glorifying (or striving to glorify) him. He has done all of these great things, so naturally I should be living in a way that His work is extravagantly evident in my life.

I should live in such a way that when people see me, they can’t help but see Him. When they wonder why I’m different, they see His hands at work and cannot deny the power of Christ.

I really have some work to do in this area and I know it starts at home. I pray that the work that God has done in my life spills over to you guys. I hope you see it, I hope I exemplify it, I hope I can lead you guys to a closer relationship with God through it. How can I expect to serve others, and to impact others for Christ if I’m not even impacting those closest to me?!

What ways do you think people can see God working in your lives?

See you in a bit!

2 thoughts on “I’m so excited, and I just can’t hide it!

  1. I think the biggest mark is joy. Not being happy all the time, not just enduring through trials, but having that steady, calm demeanor of someone who is completely at peace. I find that that’s the thing that’s lacking about my personality when I go through rough times in my interactions with others and realize that I am not representing who Jesus is. Then I have to address why I don’t have joy, and at least 10 out of 10 times, it’s because I’m only thinking about myself or the situations around me and I’m not meditating on who God is at all.

    I have set the LORD always before me; Because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved. Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoices; My flesh also will rest in hope. ~Psalm 16:8,9

    Love you bro (and your family). Have a wonderful day full of peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

