When the crops have failed, the Lord is still above all

Even though the fig trees have no blossoms, and there are no grapes on the vines; even through the olive crop fails, and the fields lie empty and barren; even though the flocks die in the fields, and the cattle barns are empty, yet I will rejoice in the Lord! I will be joyful in the God of my salvation! The Sovereign Lord is my Strength! He makes me as surefooted as a deer, able to tread upon the heights.

Habakkuk 3:17-19 (NLT)

This is one of those verses that I always say I’m going to write down or commit to memory, but end up forgetting about until God throws it back my way.

It’s interesting that it came up now because I’ve been in a season where God is frequently showing me so much about dependence and reliance on him…I can’t help but wonder what is going on. Maybe I’m not fully resting in him, maybe something is coming that is going to stretch my dependence on Him (although I’m certainly not into asking for trials). When I think about where we are as a family I know that Spiritual warfare is at the door, we see it, we feel it, and sometimes I wonder what other ways we’ll see it.

In reality, it doesn’t really matter what form the warfare takes, when it hits, or where it hits. What really matters is how we walk through the warfare as a family. Will we look to the Lord for our strength, will we rely on him to provide our needs? Will we rejoice in him, with a peace that surpasses understanding?

The verses in Habakkuk 3 are a bold proclamation of trust in the Lord from a prophet who lived in a spiritually dead span of time. Much like we live in a time where people have turned themselves away from God.

The world has declared that it can survive on its own. We see this in the lessons taught in school, in the lack of integrity in business, in the media, and sadly, even in our homes.  When we decide to walk without the Lord, when we decide to argue rather than submitting to each other, when we decide not to serve each other but to pursue our own interests. When we act in these ways, we are effectively saying “God, We can do this on our own”.

Yet, here we are, we are called to live in this world, but not be OF this world. We cannot do this on our own, we must have God as our head, our focus, and our provider.

We should read this verse every day, to help keep our eyes on the Lord.  No matter what comes, no matter what trials we face, no matter what situations we encounter, The Lord is our Strength and our Salvation, and we will put our trust in Him.

I love you guys, I hope your day is going well, I’ll see you in a couple hours.

Leave a Reply

