Sanctuary

Music has always had a profound effect on my life.  You know how sometimes you can vividly remember smells, tastes, and feelings from past experiences? For me, music is just as pronounced, just as rich, and just as memorable as those smells, tastes, and feelings.  

A couple of weeks ago, on my way to work, God dropped a song in my lap. It’s a song I learned many years ago, at a Church that sang Acapella 4 part harmony.  The song reminds me of my older Sister, whose beautiful voice often made up the harmony I hear in my mind.  It reminds me of youth conferences where I drew close to God.  It reminds me of the first time I went through an “Experiencing God” study (youth edition). It reminds me of the same Church where my wife gave her life to the Lord and I re-dedicated my life to Him after having turned my back.

The song, is Sanctuary. ( I would have linked to a recording but quite frankly I cannot find a recorded version that does justice to the memories in my mind).

Here are the lyrics:

Oh Lord prepare me

To be a sanctuary

Pure and Holy, tried and true

With thanksgiving

I’ll be a living

Sanctuary, for You

I wish you could hear this song in the same way that I hear this song, but nonetheless, it’s so simple, and so very powerful!

When you think about a sanctuary, what comes to mind? Rest, peace, comfort, solitude, refuge, all of these are words that could be used to describe a sanctuary.

So the question is, are you a sanctuary?

When others come around you do they find rest, peace, comfort, solitude, and refuge? Do they see a dwelling place for you Savior? 

I know, the answers to that question can sting! There have been many times in my life where I could NOT answer Yes.  

Don’t dwell on the past though, take some time right NOW, pray, spend some time with your Father, and ask Him to prepare you to be a sanctuary for Him!

Leave a Reply

